Sarah Palin: In her own words

Sarah Palin gave a great interview to Hugh Hewitt yesterday.  They touched on a lot of topics, and I think it gave good insight into the character of Gov. Palin.  If you have time, go to Hugh’s site and read the whole transcript.  It’s good stuff.

On the hostility that her nomination has evoked:  “Oh, I think they’re just not used to someone coming in from the outside saying you know what? It’s time that normal Joe six-pack American is finally represented in the position of vice presidency, and I think that that’s kind of taken some people off guard, and they’re out of sorts, and they’re ticked off about it, but it’s motivation for John McCain and I to work that much harder to make sure that our ticket is victorious, and we put government back on the side of the people of Joe six-pack like me, and we start doing those things that are expected of our government, and we get rid of corruption, and we commit to the reform that is not only desired, but is deserved by Americans.”

On the current economic hardships:  “I know what Americans are going through. Todd and I, heck, we’re going through that right now even as we speak, which may put me again kind of on the outs of those Washington elite who don’t like the idea of just an everyday working class American running for such an office. But yeah, there’s been a lot of times that Todd and I have had to figure out how we were going to pay for health insurance. We’ve gone through periods of our life here with paying out of pocket for health coverage until Todd and I both landed a couple of good union jobs.”

On her pro-life stance:  “Ironic too, Hugh, that some would consider my position on life and trying to usher in a culture of life, respecting the sanctity of life in America, that that is seen as an extreme position when to me, an extreme position is one that Barack Obama took when he was in the Illinois State Senate, not even supporting a measure that would ban partial birth abortion, not even supporting a measure that would during, after a botched abortion and that baby’s born alive, allowing medical care to cease and allowing that baby to die. That to me is extreme. That’s so far, far left it’s certainly out of the mainstream of America.”  [Decidedly Right note:  that certainly is out of the mainstream, Gov. Palin.]

On her son, Track, who is serving in Iraq:  “I’m proud that my son made this independent and very wise decision as such a young man at 18, deciding you know, he realized there’s something he can do to help, to contribute, to help protect our nation, and I couldn’t be more proud of him and all those who choose to serve in our military. They’re serving for the right reasons. God bless them, God love them.”

I love it!  She is who she is, the elitists be damned.  She is truly a candidate for the 21st century and a big step forward for conservatives and women.

1 Comment

Filed under Politics, Sarah Palin

One response to “Sarah Palin: In her own words

  1. Leslie

    I love her!!!! So many want to hate her, but FINALLY we have a women who represents us conservative women. I’m excited for the debate tonight and look forward to her getting back to being herself, that is who we fell in love with. GO SARAH!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

